Estepona

Rachel came to visit me last weekend. We did the usual and visited Gibraltar, Puerto Banus and Marbella (I’ll write about those soon), but most of all I had the chance to really explore Estepona in the sun and finally fall in love with it a little bit…

I realise that up until I haven’t really written about Estepona much. Apart from the fact that I live in a beachside apartment with gorgeous views, I’d always focused on the negatives on my life here, such as: the town is a tiny place (so small that it doesn’t even have a Zara like Toulon and has a population of less than 60,000 people); the place is full of Brits of the older generation; there is a distinct (nearly complete) lack of young studenty people and I’m generally a little fed-up with it. Basically I’ve been feeling a bit homesick for good old Sheffield and my lovely university friends. If I could take the sunshine and the food and the beach to South Yorkshire, or bring Sheffield and its lovely people here, I would. However, I’m now over halfway through, the sunshine seems to have arrived, I have a June full of visitors from overseas, I’ll be back with the BF in the UK next week before he comes out here in three weeks, I’m going to see Beyoncé with my besties and my Spanish finally seems to have improved…Things are looking up!

Anyway, the point of this post is that Estepona as a place is actually BEAUTIFUL. Think of all the generic Andalucian images of tiny white streets, of hidden plazas with fountains and gorgeous little tapas bars and of orange tree-lined roads. This is Estepona.

I went on a few exploring trips this week and armed with my new camera I went a bit crazy, but here are some photos of the beautiful pueblo that I live in.

Leave a Reply

