I love you, France.

Dear France, you and I have had a bit of a love-hate relationship since I arrived here, so I thought I’d give you a bit of an ego-boosting blog post about my love for you…Here are 10 things I love about you, France:

1. Your weather.

While my companions in England and anywhere north of the PACA region are shivering when they wake up to frost in the morning, I’m shivering when I wake up and it’s 15 degrees and sunny (French apartments are cold, okay? High ceilings, lack of carpet and all that!). I haven’t had to whip out the winter coat yet…jealous?

Blue skies, (nearly) all year round!

2. Your public transport system.

I know you are frequently too early or running late, but everyone has their faults… It’s so much cheaper, quicker and more frequent than in the UK, particularly the trains with our youth cards (Nice in 1h45 for 10euros? Marseille for 6euros? Paris (800km away) in 4 hours? Cheers, France).

3. Your pastries. And sweet goods in general.

Freshly baked warm baguettes, pain au chocolat, croissant d’abricot you have become my go-to downfalls after a bad day. Greggs, I can never look you in the eye again!

4. Your ice cream.

SO. MANY. FLAVOURS. Maybe it’s because we’re so close to Italy, but the ice-cream is just SO GOOD.

5. So to reiterate the above two points: your FOOD.

Your saucisson, cheese, olives, chocolate and macaroons are definitely high on my list…

Macaroon heaven

6. Your cheap alcohol.

I thought Sheffield was a cheap town, but I don’t think I well ever be able to consider a £4 bottle of wine as cheap again when I pay on average around 2.50euros for a DECENT bottle of wine, none of this undrinkable nonsense! However, I do have morals and draw the line at anything under 2euros.

7. Your shopping:

Sephora, Zara, Pull&Bear, Longchamp, Pimkie, Kiko…enough said.

8. Your scenery.

The PACA region is quite simply stunning. Sea, mountains, forest. What more could you possibly want?

Provence in a photo.

9.  Your language.

The language of love apparently. The fact that I’m actually able to communicate with other Frenchies makes me slightly biased on this…

Words of wisdom, right there.

10. Your phone contracts.

Bit of an odd one, but free calls to Canada you say?

Okay, so I’ve been very complimentary here, but be warned, my next post will not be as kind to you, France.

Coming soon: ’10 (or more) things I hate about you France’.

Bisous!

One response to “I love you, France.

  1. Pingback: 10 things (more or less) that I hate about you, France | [Morwenna takes on Europe]·

Leave a Reply

